Nominees Named for the 2015 Marcel Duchamp Prize

Gilles Fuchs, the president of ADIAF, announcing this year's Marcel Duchamp Prize nominees.

Gilles Fuchs, the president of ADIAF, announcing this year’s Marcel Duchamp Prize nominees.


The Association for the International Diffusion of French Art—ADIAF, for short—has announced the nominees for this year’s Marcel Duchamp Prize, which is given annually to a French artist whom they believe is worthy of foreign recognition. The four 2015 nominees, all of whom live and work in Paris, are Davide Baloula, Neil Beloufa, Melik Ohanian, and Zineb Sedira.

The winner of the Marcel Duchamp Prize will receive €35,000 (about $39,700) and a solo show at the Centre Pompidou, also budgeted at €35,000. Julien Prévieux, the 2014 winner, is set to have his Pompidou exhibition in September. Other past winners include Thomas Hirschhorn, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, and Cyprien Gaillard.

Unlike the other years in the prize’s 16-year history, 2015 will mark the first time that all four artists get the chance to show work at the Pompidou. Previously, the nominees showed work at FIAC prior to the announcement of the winner; for the 2015 prize, the four artists will show their art in a three-month group show at the Pompidou next year 2016.

Copyright 2019, Art Media ARTNEWS, llc. 110 Greene Street, 2nd Fl., New York, N.Y. 10012. All rights reserved.