Cooper Hewitt Announces 2015 National Design Award Winners

The Louwman Museum in Netherlands, designed by Michael Graves. COURTESY ARTIST'S WEBSITE

The Louwman Museum in Netherlands, designed by Michael Graves.


Cooper Hewitt director Caroline Baumann has announced the winners of the 2015 National Design Awards, which were selected by jury members Lindsey Adelman, Waris Ahluwalia, Amale Andraos, Maurice Cox, Doreen Lorenzo, Todd Oldham, Casey Reas, Margie Ruddick, and Rick Valicenti. The late postmodernist architect Michael Graves was accorded the lifetime achievement award; the other winners are listed below.

  • Director’s award—Jack Lenor Larson
  • Design mind award—Rosanne Haggerty
  • Corporate and institutional award—Heath Ceramics
  • Award for architecture design—MOS Architects
  • Award for communication design—Project Projects
  • Award for fashion design—threeASFOUR
  • Award for interactive design—John Underkoffler
  • Award for interior design—Commune
  • Award for landscape architecture—Coen + Partners
  • Award for product design—Stephen Burks

Via Artforum, Project Projects had this to say about their achievement, “we began Project Projects with an expanded notion of graphic design—one that includes curating, editing, researching, writing, and more. For us, design is as much about content and context as it is about form. It’s an incredible validation to see that this is now an accepted mode of practice within the field.”

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.