Nicole Eisenman, LaToya Ruby Frazier Among MacArthur ‘Genius Grant’ Winners

LaToya Ruby Frazier, Self-Portrait (March 10 a.m.), 2009.COURTESY THE ARTIST

LaToya Ruby Frazier, Self-Portrait (March 10 a.m.), 2009.


The MacArthur Foundation announced their 24 fellows for 2015, a title that comes with a $625,000 stipend. Among the winners of the “Genius Grant” are New York–based artist Nicole Eisenman, whose citation from the foundation states that she is “expanding the expressive potential of the figurative tradition,” and the photographer LaToya Ruby Frazier, whose work is known for “capturing the consequences of postindustrial decline for marginalized communities and illustrating how photography can promote dialogue about historical change and social responsibility.” Other fellows include the author Ben Lerner and Ta-Nehisi Coates, the journalist and author of the recent book Between the World and Me. The full list is below.

2015 MacArthur Fellows

  • Patrick Awuah
  • Kartik Chandran
  • Ta-Nehisi Coates
  • Gary Cohen
  • Matthew Desmond
  • William Dichtel
  • Michelle Dorrance
  • Nicole Eisenman
  • LaToya Ruby Frazier
  • Ben Lerner
  • Mimi Lien
  • Lin-Manuel Miranda
  • Dimitri Nakassis
  • John Novembre
  • Christopher Ré
  • Marina Rustow
  • Juan Salgado
  • Beth Stevens
  • Lorenz Studer
  • Alex Truesdell
  • Basil Twist
  • Ellen Bryant Voigt
  • Heidi Williams
  • Peidong Yang

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.