Guggenheim Museum Reveals Short List for 2016 Hugo Boss Prize

Anicka Yi, "7,070,430K of Digital Spit," installation view at Kunsthalle Basel, 2015. ARTNEWS

Anicka Yi, “7,070,430K of Digital Spit,” installation view at Kunsthalle Basel, 2015.


The Guggenheim Museum announced the shortlist today for next year’s Hugo Boss Prize, awarded biennially to a mid-career artist. Past winners have included Paul Chan, Tacita Dean, and Danh Vo.

The winner of the Hugo Boss Prize receives $100,000 and an exhibition in one of the museum’s tower galleries. The 2016 prize’s winner will be announced in the fall of next year, with that winner’s exhibition expected to open in spring 2017.

This year’s jurors are Nancy Spector, the deputy director and chief curator of the Guggenheim; Katherine Brinson, a curator of contemporary art at the Guggenheim; Dan Byers, a senior curator at the ICA Boston; Elena Filipovic, the director and chief curator of the Kunsthalle Basel; Michelle Kuo, the editor in chief of Artforum; and Pablo Léon de la Barra, the Guggenheim’s UBS MAP curator of Latin American art.

The 2016 Hugo Boss Prize shortlist follows below:

  • Tania Bruguera (b. 1968, Havana, Cuba)
  • Mark Leckey (b. 1964, Birkenhead, United Kingdom)
  • Ralph Lemon (b. 1952, Cincinnati, Ohio)
  • Laura Owens (b. 1970, Euclid, Ohio)
  • Wael Shawky (b. 1971, Alexandria, Egypt)
  • Anicka Yi (b. 1971, Seoul, South Korea)

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.