Here Are the New York Recipients of the 2015 Rema Hort Mann Foundation Grants

Kenya (Robinson), still from M is for Malcolm…, 2010.COURTESY THE ARTIST

Kenya (Robinson), still from M is for Malcolm…, 2010.


The Rema Hort Mann Foundation has named the eight recipients of its annual New York grants, which are watched as markers for new talent in the field. Those artists, who will each receive an unrestricted check for $10,000, are as follows:

  • Aaron Fowler
  • Motoko Fukuyama
  • M. Lamar
  • Leeza Meksin
  • Troy Michie
  • Kenny Rivero
  • Kenya (Robinson)
  • Ezra Wube

The artists were selected by a jury made up of Rocío Aranda-Alvarado, curator at El Museo del Barrio in New York; Matthew Higgs, director and chief curator of White Columns; Rujeko Hockley, assistant curator of contemporary art at the Brooklyn Museum; Susan Hort, cofounder of the Rema Hort Mann Foundation; and David Humphrey, an artist.

Past RHMF grantees include Keltie Ferris, Virginia Overton, Dana Schutz, and Mickalene Thomas.

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.