United States Artists Name 2015 Fellows, Including Paul Pfeiffer, Mickalene Thomas, Dawoud Bey



Earlier today the United States Artists grant-making organization announced its 2015 fellows. Selected from over 400 nominees from various artistic disciplines, the 37 fellows will each receive a $50,000 reward.

The winners in the category of visual arts are:

  • Judith Baca, USA Rockefeller Fellow (Venice, CA)
  • Frank Big Bear, USA Knight Fellow (Duluth, MN)
  • Dawoud Bey, USA Guthman Fellow (Chicago, IL)
  • Paul Pfeiffer, USA Shari D. Behnke Fellow (New York, NY)
  • Mickalene Thomas, USA Francie Bishop Good & David Horvitz Fellow (Brooklyn, NY)
  • Kade Twist, USA Jeanne & Michael Klein Fellow (Santa Fe, NM)

United States Artists CEO Carolina García Jayaram explained the judging criteria in a press statement. “USA Fellowships are awarded to innovative artists of all ages and at all stages of their careers, who are nominated for their commitment to excellence and the enduring potential of their work,” she said.”What continues to set the USA Fellowship apart is the unrestricted nature of our award. USA’s mission is to put artists first as they are the core of our organization. This is shown by the inherent trust we place in them to know how to use the money to further their practice and pursue unrealized opportunities.”

The rest of the fellows among the other awarded artistic disciplines follows:


  • Jonathan Muecke, USA Knight Fellow (Saint Paul, MN)
  • Chat Travieso, USA YoungArts Fellow (New York, NY)


  • Cristina Córdova, USA Distinguished Fellow (Penland, NC)
  • Mark Hewitt, USA Distinguished Fellow (Pittsboro, NC)
  • Ayumi Horie, USA Distinguished Fellow (Portland, ME)
  • Amos Paul Kennedy, USA Glasgow Fellow (Detroit, MI)
  • Therman Statom, USA Smith Fellow (Omaha, NE)
  • Anne Wilson, USA Distinguished Fellow (Evanston, IL)


  • Jonah Bokaer, USA Ford Fellow (Brooklyn, NY)
  • Camille A. Brown, USA Jay Franke & David Herro Fellow (Jamaica, NY)
  • Toni Pierce-Sands & Uri Sands, USA Knight Fellows (Saint Paul, MN)


  • Teju Cole, USA Zell Fellow (Brooklyn, NY)
  • Adrian Matejka, USA Simon Fellow (Bloomington, IN)


  • Peter Nicks, USA Pritzker Pucker Fellow (Oakland, CA)
  • Deborah Stratman, USA Collins Fellow (Chicago, IL)


  • Maya Beiser, USA Distinguished Fellow (Bronx, NY)
  • David Lang, USA Distinguished Fellow (New York, NY)
  • Rudresh Mahanthappa, USA Distinguished Fellow (Montclair, NJ)
  • Joe Louis Walker, USA Oliver Fellow (Poughkeepsie, NY)
  • Invincible ill Weaver, USA Ford Fellow (Detroit, MI)
  • Shara Worden, USA Knight Fellow (Detroit, MI)
  • Jasiri X, USA Cummings Fellow (Pittsburgh, PA)


  • Jackie Sibblies Drury, USA Gracie Fellow (Brooklyn, NY)
  • Narcissister, USA Ford Fellow (Brooklyn, NY)


  • Shan Goshorn, USA Distinguished Fellow (Tulsa, OK)
  • Kathleen Carlo-Kendall, USA Rasmuson Fellow (Fairbanks, AK)
  • Da-ka-xeen Mehner, USA Rasmuson Fellow (Fairbanks, AK)
  • Diego Romero, USA Distinguished Fellow (Santa Fe, NM)
  • Sidonka Wadina, USA Distinguished Fellow (Lyons, WI)
  • Mary Louise Defender Wilson, USA Weitz Fellow (Flasher, ND)

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.