Here Are the 2015 Recipients of Creative Capital Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grants

The Arts Writers Grant Program's logo. COURTESY ARTS WRITERS GRANT PROGRAM

The Arts Writers Grant Program’s logo.


The Arts Writers Grant Program announced its 2015 recipients on its website this week. Among this year’s winners are New York Times critic Martha Schwendener and novelist Lynne Tillman.

Co-supported by Creative Capital and the Andy Warhol Foundation, Arts Writers Grants are given annually to critics, novelists, and scholars who work with contemporary art, which the program defines as being art made after World War II. Awards are given in four categories: articles, blogs, books, and short-form writing.

The full list of 2015 recipients follows below:


  • Carla Acevedo-Yates, “The Silence of Eros: Decoding Homotextuality in the Work of Zilia Sánchez”
  • Gian-Maria Annovi, “Dirty Encounters: Pier Paolo Pasolini’s Legacy and the Work of David Wojnarowicz”
  • Melissa Ragain, “Environmental Aesthetics in the Postwar University”


  • Claire Daigle, Figuring Fiction
  • Gelare Khoshgozaran and Eunsong Kim, contemptorary
  • Victoria Valentine, Culture Type


  • Rizvana Bradley, Resurfaced Flesh: Black Aesthetics Unbound
  • Iftikhar Dadi, Pakistani Contemporary Art: An Object History
  • Johanna Gosse, On Site: Ray Johnson’s New York
  • William E. Jones, The Ruins of Villa Iolas
  • Damon Krukowski, The New Analog
  • Courtney Martin, A Critical Language: Lawrence Alloway’s Words to the Art World
  • Alexander Provan, Arbitrary Units: Culture in the Age of Quantification

Short-Form Writing

  • Karen Archey
  • Orit Gat
  • James McAnally
  • Laura McLean-Ferris
  • Erik Morse
  • Martha Schwendener
  • Lynne Tillman

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.