News The Talent

Carmen Herrera, Rosalind Krauss, Arlene Shechet Among Winners of 2016 CAA Awards



Yesterday, the College Art Association (CAA) announced the 2016 winners of its CAA Awards, which are given annually to artists, art historians, critics, and conservators for their contributions to their fields. Among this year’s winners are Arlene Shechet, who had a critically acclaimed ICA Boston show in 2015, and Carmen Herrera, who, at age 100, is currently preparing a Whitney retrospective for the fall. Also noteworthy are Chika Okeke-Agulu, who is being honored for her book Postcolonial Modernism: Art and Decolonization in Twentieth-Century Nigeria, and Rosalind Krauss, who is receiving a lifetime achievement award for her criticism.

The full list of winners follows below.

    • Charles Rufus Morey Book Award
      Krista Thompson
      Shine: The Visual Economy of Light in African Diasporic Aesthetic Practice
      Duke University Press
    • Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award
      Stephanie Barron and Sabine Eckmann
      New Objectivity: Modern German Art in the Weimar Republic 1919–1933
      Los Angeles County Museum of Art and DelMonico Books
    • Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award for Smaller Museums, Libraries, Collections, and Exhibitions
      Myroslava M. Mudrak and Tetiana Rudenko
      Staging the Ukrainian Avant-Garde of the 1910s and 1920s
      Ukrainian Museum
    • Arthur Kingsley Porter Prize
      Matthew C. Hunter
      “Joshua Reynolds’s ‘Nice Chymistry’: Action and Accident in the 1770s”
      The Art Bulletin, March 2015
    • Frank Jewett Mather Award for Art Criticism
      Chika Okeke-Agulu
      Postcolonial Modernism: Art and Decolonization in Twentieth-Century Nigeria
      Duke University Press
    • Art Journal Award
      Abigail Satinsky
      “Movement Building for Beginners”
      Art Journal, Fall 2015
    • Distinguished Feminist Award
      Carrie Mae Weems
    • Distinguished Teaching of Art Award
      Sabina Ott
    • Distinguished Teaching of Art History Award
      Patricia Berger
    • Artist Award for Distinguished Body of Work
      Arlene Shechet
    • Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement
      Carmen Herrera
    • CAA/American Institute for Conservation Award for Distinction in Scholarship and Conservation
      Debra Hess Norris
    • Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing on Art
      Rosalind E. Krauss
    • Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award Finalist
      Jens M. Daehner and Kenneth Lapatin, eds., Power and Pathos: Bronze Sculpture of the Hellenistic World, J. Paul Getty Museum
    • Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award for Smaller Museums, Libraries, Collections, and Exhibitions Finalist
      Timothy Verdon and Daniel M. Zolli, eds., Sculpture in the Age of Donatello: Renaissance Masterpieces from Florence Cathedral, Museum of Biblical Art, in association with D. Giles
    • Morey and Barr Award Finalists
      • Paul Binski, Gothic Wonder: Art, Artifice, and the Decorated Style, 1290–1350, Yale University Press, for the Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art
      • Elina Gertsman, Worlds Within: Opening the Medieval Shrine Madonna, Pennsylvania State University Press
      • Adam Herring, Art and Vision in the Inca Empire: Andeans and Europeans at Cajamarca, Cambridge University Press

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.