News The Talent

ICP Gives 2016 Infinity Awards to Walid Raad, Zanele Muholi, David Bailey, More

A portrait of Kate Moss by David Bailey, who will receive this year's lifetime achievement award. ©DAVID BAILEY

A portrait of Kate Moss by David Bailey, who will receive this year’s lifetime achievement award.


The New York–based International Center of Photography announced the 2016 winners of its annual Infinity Awards, which have been given annually since 1985 to honor excellence in photography. The awards will be given at the ICP’s annual benefit on April 11, ahead of the much-delayed summer opening of its new space at 250 Bowery.

This year’s recipient’s are:

— For art, Walid Raad, whose work focuses on the conceit of truth that photographic evidence presents and the role that memory plays in constructing history, and who had a lauded survey at the Museum of Modern Art last year.

— For artist’s book, Matthew Connor’s Fire in Cairo, which mixes his photographs of the Egyptian capital and its people with his literary fiction.

— For online platform and new media, Jonathan Harris and Gregor Hochmuth’s Network Effect, a monumental browser-based work that comments on the Internet’s role in our daily lives and the way it can induce anxiety by showing a limitless number of video clips, on topics ranging from war and consumerism to sex and celebration.

— For documentary and photojournalism, Zanele Muholi, whose photographs capture the often unseen population of LGBTQ people of South Africa and who recently had an exhibition at the Brooklyn Museum.

— For critical writing and research, Susan Schuppli, whose work examines visual artifacts using scientific research processes.

— And a lifetime achievement award for British fashion photographer and director David Bailey, whose career has spanned five decades, and who is known for his close association with British Vogue, his images of London street culture, and his celebrity portraits, ranging from the Beatles to Mia Farrow.

Past winners include Richard Avedon, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Annie Leibovitz, Shirin Neshat, and Gordon Parks. The awards were decided by a three-person committee consisting of curators Charlotte Cotton and Brian Sholis and writer Teju Cole. The lifetime achievement was decided by the museum’s trustees and senior staff.

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.