Market News

Here Are the Artist and Exhibitor Lists for the 1:54 Contemporary African Art Fair in New York



The 1:54 Contemporary African Art Fair announced the artist list today for its second edition in New York, which will once again be held at Pioneer Works in Red Hook, Brooklyn, from May 6 through May 8, overlapping with Frieze New York’s run.

Sixty artists will show at this year’s 1:54 Fair, which draws its name from the 54 countries comprising the African continent. Although many of the participating artists aren’t currently based in Africa, the fair seeks to group the continent’s diaspora in a way that highlights the diverse range of contemporary art that falls under this geographic category.

Here is the gallery list:

  • Afronova (Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • APALAZZOGALLERY (Brescia, Italy)
  • ARTLabAfrica (Nairobi, Kenya)
  • Art Bärtschi & Cie (Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Axis Gallery (New York)
  • Galerie Anne De Villepoix (Paris)
  • Galerie Cécile Fakhoury (Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire)
  • In Situ / Fabienne Leclerc (Paris)
  • Jack Bell Gallery (London)
  • Magnin-A (Paris)
  • Mariane Ibrahim Gallery (Seattle)
  • Officine dell’Immagine (Milan)
  • Richard Taittinger Gallery (New York)
  • Sabrina Amrani Gallery (Madrid)
  • (S)ITOR / Sitor Senghor (Paris)
  • TAFETA (London)
  • David Krut Projects (Johannesburg, South Africa & New York)

The artist list follows below.

  • Aboudia (Cote d’Ivoire)
  • Derrick Adams (USA)
  • Leonce Raphael Agbodjelou (Benin)
  • Joseph Moise Agbodjelou (Benin)
  • Ruby Oyinyechi Amanze (Nigeria)
  • Emma Amos (USA)
  • Joel Andrianomearisoa (Madagascar)
  • Mustapha Azeroual (France)
  • Omar Ba (Senegal)
  • Sammy Baloji (DRC)
  • Steve Bandoma (DRC)
  • PhoebeBoswell (Kenya)
  • Armand Boua (Cote d’Ivoire)
  • Nathalie Boutte (France)
  • Sonia Boyce (UK)
  • Edson Chagas (Angola)
  • Jim Chuchu (Kenya)
  • Endale Desalegn (Ethiopia)
  • Safaa Erruas (Morocco)
  • Theo Eshetu (UK)
  • Em’Kal Eyongakpa (Cameroon)
  • Meschac Gaba (Benin)
  • Frances Goodman (South Africa)
  • Mwangi Hutter (Kenya / Germany)
  • Ayana V. Jackson (USA)
  • William Kentridge (South Africa)
  • Farah Khelil (Tunisia)
  • Yashua Klos (USA)
  • Lawrence Lemaoana (South Africa)
  • John Liebenberg (South Africa)
  • Ndary Lo (Senegal)
  • Goncalo Mabunda (Mozambique)
  • Ibrahim Mahama (Ghana)
  • Hamidou Maiga (Burkina Faso)
  • Houston Maludi (DRC)
  • Abu Bakarr Mansaray (Sierra Leone)
  • Misheck Masamvu (Zimbabwe)
  • Vincent Michea (France)
  • Fabrice Monteiro (Belgique)
  • Aida Muluneh (Ethiopia)
  • Cheikh Ndiaye (Senegal)
  • Otobong Nkanga (Nigeria)
  • Boris Nzebo (Gabon)
  • Uche Okpa-iroha (Nigeria)
  • Babajide Olatunji (Nigeria)
  • Adeniyi Olagunju (Nigeria)
  • Paul Onditi (Kenya)
  • Zohra Opoku (Germany)
  • Athi-Patra Ruga (South Africa)
  • William Sagna (Senegal)
  • Kura Shomali (DRC)
  • Gor Soudan (Kenya)
  • Uman (Somalia)
  • Nontsikelelo Veleko (South Africa)
  • Diane Victor (Germany)
  • Beatrice Wanjiku (Kenya)
  • Graeme Williams (South Africa)
  • Sue Williamson (UK)
  • Yeanzi (Cote d’Ivoire)
  • Billie Zangewa (Malawi)
  • Dominique Zinkpe (Benin)

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.