News The Talent

Richard Diebenkorn Foundation Names Steven Nash Board President


Steven Nash.


The Richard Diebenkorn Foundation has named Steven Nash as board president, filling the position left open by the death of Diebenkorn’s widow, Phyllis Diebenkorn, last year. Nash, a noted Diebenkorn scholar, served as co-curator and essayist for Diebenkorn’s much-lauded retrospective at the de Young Museum in San Francisco in 2013, and has contributed to the artist’s forthcoming catalogue raisonné.

“Steven brings a depth of vision, management and administration, combined with a critical and deeply felt interest in Richard Diebenkorn and his oeuvre,” Richard M. Grant, the foundation’s executive director, said in a statement. Nash, whose interest in Diebenkorn was sparked after meeting the artist and his family in 1976, added, “I knew Richard Diebenkorn, and so it is an absolute privilege and honor to be elected to this position.We will strive to bring greater recognition and understanding to Richard Diebenkorn’s remarkable output over a lengthy and highly productive career, and we will continue to support public exhibitions and foster new scholarship about the artist and his time.”

Nash previously worked at the Nasher Sculpture Center in Dallas, where he served as founding director. Prior to that, he held positions such as associate director and chief curator at the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, deputy director and chief curator of the Dallas Museum of Art, and executive director of the Palm Springs Art Museum.

The foundation also announced the appointment of two new trustees: Sarah C. Bancroft, executive director of the James Rosenquist Foundation and associate director of curatorial affairs at testsite in Austin, Texas; and Leah Levy, director and trustee of the Jay DeFeo Trust and a director at the Artists’ Legacy Foundation.

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.