Hepworth Wakefield Names Shortlisted Artists for U.K. Museum’s Sculpture Prize


Hepworth Wakefield.


The Hepworth Wakefield announced the shortlisted artists for its Hepworth Prize for Sculpture today. According to a release, the prize is the U.K.’s first-ever sculpture award, and it’s going to be given out biennially to a British or U.K.-based sculptor. The winner will receive £30,000, or about $43,400.

The nomination panel for this year’s prize was Katrina Brown, the director of Common Guild; Jennifer Higgie, a coeditor of Frieze; Lisa Le Feuvre, the director of the Henry Moore Institute; Sally Tallant, the director of the Liverpool Biennial; and Bart van der Heide, the chief curator of the Stedelijk Museum. The panel was chaired by Simon Wallis, the director of the Hepworth Wakefield.

The shortlist is as follows:

  • Phyllida Barlow
  • Steven Claydon
  • Helen Marten
  • David Medalla

The finalists will now exhibit work at the Hepworth Wakefield from late October through January. For the next few months, a judging panel will deliberate until November, when the winner will be announced. That panel includes Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, the director of the Castello di Rivoli; David Chipperfield, the architect and designer of the Hepworth Wakefield; Sheika Hoor al-Qasimi, the president of the Sharjah Art Foundation; Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, a collector and the president of the Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo; and Alastair Sooke, an art critic.

“We are delighted to have such a strong and diverse shortlist for our inaugural Prize and are looking forward to working with these artists and to inspire and engage our audiences with the medium of sculpture,” Wallis said in a statement. “It is particularly fitting that we launch the first Prize of its kind, here in the heart of the Yorkshire Sculpture Triangle.”

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.