2016 Moscow International Biennale for Young Art Announces Artist List and Curators for ‘Strategic Projects’

The 2012 Moscow Biennale for Young Art. AMAR FATTAL

The 2012 Moscow Biennale for Young Art.


The Moscow International Biennale for Young Art announced the artist list for this year’s edition, the biennial’s fifth, today. It includes 87 artists from 36 countries, all of whom are in the emerging category. (This show is not to be confused with the Moscow Biennale, which takes place in odd-numbered years. Here’s Zoë Lescaze’s report from the last edition.)

Also announced today were two “strategic projects.” One called “Hyperconnected” will be curated by João Laia and will be staged at the Moscow Museum of Modern Art—its focus is an increasingly interconnected culture. The second, titled “Time of Reasonable Doubts,” will be curated by Silvia Franceschini and Valeria Mancinelli, will be held at Russia’s National Centre for Contemporary art, and is about “the status, function and meaning of images in the contemporary world.” Neither project has announced its artist list yet.

This year’s biennial is titled “Deep Inside” and is themed around penetration and “abyssal culture,” according to Nadim Sadim, this edition’s curator. “We are climbing, or falling, ever deeper into a kind of black hole,” Samman writes in a statement about the biennial’s theme. “As we do, it is perhaps to be expected that artists should be fascinated by opacities, by occultations, encryptions, and conspiracies—the other side of the event horizon.”

The artist list for the fifth Moscow Biennale for Young Art, which opens on July 1 and runs through August 10, follows below.

  • Ozan Atalan, Turkey/USA
  • Stacy Belevicheva, Ukraine
  • Matilde Benmayor, Chile
  • Julius von Bismarck, Germany
  • Pamela Breda, Italy
  • Vladislav Brut, Russia, and Alisa Beketova, Kazakhstan/Russia
  • Ekaterina Burlyga, Ukraine/Germany
  • Olga Butenop, Russia
  • Martin Callanan, Great Britain
  • Noor Ali Chagani, Pakistan
  • Julian Charrière, Switzerland/Germany
  • Revital Cohen, Israel, and Tuur van Balen, Belgium/Great Britain
  • Juan Covelli, Colombia/Great Britain
  • Chris Coy, USA
  • María Dalberg, Iceland
  • Jasmin Daryani, Iran/Sweden
  • Petr Davydtchenko, Russia/Sweden/Great Britain
  • Jonathan Doweck, Israel
  • Liat Elbling, Israel
  • Hüseyin Mert Erverdi, Turkey
  • Karin Ferrari, Italy/Austria
  • Christian Fogarolli, Italy
  • Verena Friedrich, Germany
  • Veronika Geiger, Denmark/Switzerland
  • Adam Gibney, Ireland
  • Iuliana Golub, Ukraine
  • Florian Goldmann, Germany
  • Katharina Gruzei, Austria
  • Logi Leó Gunnarsson, Iceland
  • Ali Jan Haider, Pakistan
  • Elisabeth Haust, Russia/Czech Republic
  • Joey Holder, Great Britain
  • Marguerite Humeau, France/Great Britain
  • Marc Johnson, France
  • Graham Kelly, Great Britain/The Netherlands
  • Daria Khlapova, Russia
  • Felix Kiessling, Germany
  • Paul Kneale, Canada
  • Fabian Knecht, Germany
  • Darya Koltsova, Ukraine
  • Lilia Kosyreva, Russia
  • Egor Kraft, Russia/Great Britain/Austria
  • Ksenia Kuleva, Russia
  • Joshua Leary (Evian Christ), Great Britain, and David Rudnick, Great Britain/USA
  • Juliana Cerqueira Leite, USA
  • Ekaterina Lukoshkova, Russia
  • Eli Maria Lundgaard, Norway
  • Vlad Lunin, Ukraine/Canada
  • Steve Maher, Ireland/Finland
  • Nadja Verena Marcin, Germany/USA
  • Maxime Marion, France, and Émilie Brout, France
  • Zoë Claire Miller, USA/Germany
  • Alice Miceli, Brazil/The Netherlands
  • Marina Moskalenko, Russia, and Tatiana Smirnova, Russia
  • Lee Nevo, Israel
  • Alisa Nikolaeva, Russia/France
  • Ismael Ogando, Dominican Republic
  • Tim Parchikov, Russia
  • Pau Pahana, USA/Germany
  • Claire Paugam, France/Iceland
  • Davide Quayola, Italy
  • Marina Ragozina, Russia
  • Martin Reiche, Germany
  • Rune Rasmussen, Denmark
  • Farid Rasulov, Azerbaijan
  • Paul Rosero Contreras, Ecuador
  • Vesna Rohaček, Croatia/Sweden
  • Andrew Ranville, USA
  • Jeremy Santiago-Horseman, USA
  • Hadas Satt, Israel
  • Dagmar Schürrer, Austria/Germany
  • Julia Selin, Sweden
  • Jura Shust, Belarus/Belgium
  • Rustan Söderling, Sweden/The Netherlands
  • Emmy Skensved, Canada/Germany, and Grégoire Blunt, Canada/Germany
  • Joe Sobel, USA/France
  • Wilf Speller, Great Britain
  • Yulia Spiridonova, Russia
  • Arya Sukapura Putra, Indonesia
  • Natalia Tikhonova, Russia
  • Alvaro Urbano, Spain/Germany
  • Ivar Veermäe, Estonia/Germany
  • Martin Volman, Argentina/Germany
  • Addie Wagenknecht, USA/Austria
  • Beny Wagner, Germany/USA
  • Andrew Norman Wilson, Germany/USA
  • Helga Wretman, Sweden/Germany

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.