News The Talent

Biennale de Montreal Announces Preliminary Artist List and Projects

Anne Imhof, Deal, 2015. NADINE FRACZKOWSKI

Anne Imhof, Deal, 2015.


The Biennale de Montreal announced its preliminary artist list today. As it stands now, there are 45 artists who are set to show work at the biennial, which opens on October 19 at the Musée d’Art Contemporain de Montréal. The biennial also announced today that it will be commissioning new work by Moyra Davey, Anne Imhof, and Celia Perrin Sidarous.

Titled “Le Grand Balcon” (The Great Balcony), this year’s biennial is curated by Philip Pirotte. It will focus on how art liberates us and allows us to think about pleasure in new ways. “With so many new works, and with artists working in so many places around the world, ‘Le Grand Balcon’ will be in a state of becoming all the way to the opening,” Pirotte said in a statement. “It’s wonderful to work with an organization that can support such experimentation, and to benefit from the insights and generosity of our curatorial advisors and of colleagues in Montréal and around the world.”

Below is the artist list for the biennial. A release notes that the list is “preliminary,” so expect the biennial to add more artists in the coming months.

  • Haig Aivazian (Lebanon)
  • Njideka Akunyili Crosby (Nigeria/USA)
  • Knut Åsdam (Norway)
  • Eric Baudelaire (France)
  • Thomas Bayrle (Germany)
  • Nadia Belerique (Canada)
  • Valérie Blass (Canada)
  • Michael Blum (Israel/Germany/France/Canada)
  • Shannon Bool (Canada/Germany)
  • Dineo Seshee Bopape (South Africa)
  • Elaine Cameron-Weir (Canada/USA)
  • Chris Curreri (Canada)
  • Moyra Davey (Canada/USA)
  • Nicole Eisenman (USA)
  • Em’kal Eyongakpa (Cameroon/Netherlands)
  • Liao Guohe (China)
  • Judith Hopf (Germany)
  • Anne Imhof (Germany)
  • Luis Jacob (Peru/Canada)
  • Myriam Jacob-Allard (Canada)
  • Brian Jungen (Canada)
  • Hassan Khan (Egypt)
  • Meiro Koizumi (Japan)
  • Zac Langdon-Pole (New Zealand/Germany)
  • Tanya Lukin Linklater (USA/Canada)
  • Kerry James Marshall (USA)
  • Corey McCorkle (USA)
  • Nathalie Melikian (Canada/Sweden)
  • Joe Namy (Lebanon/USA)
  • Shahryar Nashat (Switzerland/Germany)
  • Camille Norment (USA/Norway)
  • Celia Perrin Sidarous (Canada)
  • PURE FICTION (Germany)
  • Lucy Raven (USA)
  • Marina Rosenfeld (USA)
  • Ben Schumacher (Canada/USA)
  • Walter Scott (Canada)
  • Benjamin Seror (France/Belgium)
  • Frances Stark (USA)
  • Luke Willis Thompson (New Zealand/UK)
  • David Gheron Tretiakoff (France/Belgium)
  • Luc Tuymans (Belgium)
  • Jacob Wren (Canada)
  • Haegue Yang (Germany/South Korea)
  • Xu Zhen (China)

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.