Market News

New York’s Clifton Benevento Gallery Closes

The bookshelf at Clifton Benevento.CLIFTON BENEVENTO

The bookshelf at Clifton Benevento.


After more than six years in business, SoHo gallery Clifton Benevento announced that it has decided to close, with its last official business on May 31. Its final show, a solo outing by Zarouhie Abdalian, closed on May 14. Clifton Benevento, which took its name from the surnames of its two proprietors (both named Michael), was located on the sixth floor of 515 Broadway, and gave solo shows to a number of impressive young artists, including Wu Tsang, Jeanette Mundt, Ned Vena, Zak Kitnick, Michael E. Smith, Gina Beavers, and D’Ette Nogle.

The gallery released the news in an email, which follows in full below.

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

The gallery is closing its doors as of May 31, 2016.

We have immense gratitude for the talented artists who for the past six years have been our collaborators on ambitious, thought-provoking projects.  We are indebted to the inspiring community of curators, writers, collectors and colleagues whose generosity, dedication and viewership have supported the gallery. It has been a great privilege to work with you and may your continued enthusiasm and encouragement follow these tremendous artists.

The gallery is now closed to the public, but staff is available via email and phone.

With many thanks,

Michael Clifton + Michael Benevento

2010 – 2016

Gallery Artists and Solo Projects have included Zarouhie Abdalian, Polly Apfelbaum, Gina Beavers, John Burtle, Paul Cowan, Zak Kitnick, Sofia Leiby, Jeanette Mundt, D’Ette Nogle, Hugh Scott-Douglas, Michael E. Smith, Dylan Spaysky, Martin Soto Climent, Wu Tsang, Miller Updegraff and Ned Vena.   

Artists Exhibited: Nina Beier, Luis Miguel Bendaña, Colby Bird, Phillip Birch, Patrick Brennan, Marieta Chirulescu, Joshua Citarella, Brian Clifton, Peter Coffin, Mariah Dekkenga, Aleksandra Domanović, Patricia Fernandez, Bridget Finn, Dan Finsel, Amanda B. Friedman, Rochelle Goldberg, Charles Harlan, Elizabeth Hirsch, Channa Horwitz, Sanya Kantarovsky, Marjorie Keller, Edward and Nancy Kienholz, Alex Klein, Josh Kline, Joshua Kolbo, Denise Kupferschmidt, Shio Kusaka, Sofa Leiby, Christina Leung, Roelof Louw, Marie Lund, Nora Mapp, Eddie Martinez, RJ Messineo, Mélodie Mousset, Sam Moyer, Kirsten Nash, Philippe Perrot, Jeffrey Porterfield, Chadwick Rantanen, Niki de Saint Phalle, Karin Sander, Hanna Sandin, Benjamin Sisto, Josh Slater, Joshua Smith, David Snyder, Loredana Sperini, Kyle Thurman, Jeffrey Tranchell, Siebren Versteeg, Jonas Wood, Aaron Wrinkle, Mike Yaniro, Anicka Yi, David Zuttermeister.

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.