News The Talent

LACMA Art + Film Gala to Honor Robert Irwin, Kathryn Bigelow


Kathryn Bigelow.


The Los Angeles County Museum’s annual Art + Film Gala—a fund-raiser for the museum that allows the art world to hobnob even closer than usual with Hollywood bigwigs, thanks in part to co-chair Leonardo DiCaprio, who manages to buy a lot of art in between winning Oscars for portraying fur trappers—will this year honor the artist Robert Irwin and the director Kathryn Bigelow. The gala will be held October 29.

The Art + Film Gala’s primary gimmick (a gimmick that last year raised over $4 million for the institution, and will undoubtedly do the same this year) is to pair a legendary artist with a legendary filmmaker: James Turrell with Alejandro G. Iñárritu last year, for instance, or Barbara Kruger with Quentin Tarantino the year before. This year, however, the gala will actually be honoring two artists—Bigelow had a practice as a conceptual artist in New York in the 1970s, where she worked with the Art & Language movement, contributed to Semiotext(e) early on, and participated in the happenings at the artist community of 112 Greene Street, a loose Soho collective that counted Gordon Matta-Clark, Yvonne Rainer and Robert Rauschenberg as collaborators.

She segued into a film career, and went on to direct Point Break, The Hurt Locker—for which she won an Academy Award for Best Director—and Zero Dark Thirty.

Irwin, who was born in Long Beach, California, has two commissioned works on display at LACMA: Primal Palm Garden (2010) and Miracle Mile (2013).

“The 2016 Art+Film Gala honorees, Robert Irwin and Kathryn Bigelow, are gifted artists who are fearless in their creative and social practice,” LACMA director Michael Govan said in a press release. “Kathryn’s films are visually and thematically captivating and truly exemplify her singular vision as an artist. Bob is one of the most significant artists of our time. He creates art not of objects but of perception.”

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.