Frank Gehry, Maya Lin among Recipients of Presidential Medal of Freedom


The Medal.


Yesterday President Barack Obama announced 21 new recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom. It is a wide-ranging list that includes not just the artist and designer Maya Lin and the architect Frank Gehry, but also Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Ellen Degeneres, Bruce Springsteen, and the physicist Richard Garwin. And that is just scratching the surface! Find the full list below, along with a video of Springsteen performing “It’s Hard to Be a Saint in the City” in 1978.



Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
Elouise Cobell (posthumous)
Ellen DeGeneres
Robert De Niro
Richard Garwin
Bill and Melinda Gates
Frank Gehry
Margaret H. Hamilton
Tom Hanks
Grace Hopper (posthumous)
Michael Jordan
Maya Lin
Lorne Michaels
Newt Minow
Eduardo Padrón
Robert Redford
Diana Ross
Vin Scully
Bruce Springsteen
Cicely Tyson

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.