Here Is the Full List of Artists Participating in the Inaugural Honolulu Biennial

Kaili Chun, Veritas II, 2012-2016.

Kaili Chun, Veritas II, 2012-2016.

Today, the Honolulu Biennial Foundation announced the full list of artists participating in “Middle of Now | Here,” the inaugural Honolulu Biennial, which will run from March 8 through May 8 in the capital of Hawaii. The 30 artists, from countries and cultures connected by the Pacific Ocean, are:

—Vernon Ah Kee
—Alfredo and Isabel Aquilizan
—Andrew Binkley
—Drew Broderick
—Jane Chang Mi
—Kaili Chun
—Sean Connelly
—Beatrice Glow
—Brett Graham
—Marcus Hanalei Marzan
—Choi Jeong Hwa
—Kathy Jetnil Kijiner
—Mohammad Kazem
—Yuki Kihara
—Charlton Kupa’a Hee
—Yayoi Kusama
—Al Laguenro
—Alexander Lee
—Les Filter Feeders
—Mariquita Micki Davis
—Eko Nugroho
—Fiona Pardington
—Lisa Reihana
—Chris Ritson
—Michelle L. Schwengel-Regala
—Greg Semu
—John Vea
—Zhan Wang
—Lynne Yamamoto
—Ken and Julia Yonetani

Artists were selected by the curators of the biennial—Fumio Nanjo, the director of Tokyo’s Mori Art Museum, and Ngahiraka Mason, the former curator of indigenous art at the Maori Art at Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki in New Zealand. Installations, public programs, and events will take place across urban and historic sites in Hoholulu, but the main venue will be the Howard Hughes Corporation’s Ward Village community, located between Waikiki and downtown Honolulu.

Copyright 2019, Art Media ARTNEWS, llc. 110 Greene Street, 2nd Fl., New York, N.Y. 10012. All rights reserved.

  • Issues