2017 Skulptur Projekte Münster News

Here’s the Artist List for Skulptur Projekte Münster 2017

Bruce Nauman's Square Depression (Quadratische Senkung), which was proposed in 1977 and executed in 2007 for Skulptur Projekte Münster.SKULPTUR PROJEKTE MÜNSTER

Bruce Nauman’s Square Depression (Quadratische Senkung), which was proposed in 1977 and executed in 2007 for Skulptur Projekte Münster.


Book your tickets, buy new walking shoes, and start hitting the gym. The artist list for the fourth edition of the once-a-decade show Skulptur Projekte Münster has arrived, and it includes 35 artists, whose work will be installed throughout its namesake German city, as well as the nearby city of Marl, from June 10 through October 1. Westfälische Nachrichten and The Art Newspaper have the details.

The list, which follows in full below, includes esteemed veterans of the international art scene, like Pierre Huyghe, Cosima von Bonin, Nicole Eisenman, and Thomas Schütte, as well as formidable younger talents, like Ei Arakawa, Nora Schultz, Mika Rottenberg, and Justin Matherly. Kasper König, who cofounded the event in 1977, is handling curatorial duties for this round with Britta Peters and Marianne Wagner.

Ei Arakawa (born 1977, Fukushima, Japan)
Aram Bartholl (born 1972, Bremen, Germany)
Nairy Baghramian (born 1971, Isfahan, Iran)
Cosima von Bonin (born 1962, Mombasa, Kenya)
Andreas Bunte (born 1970, Mettmann, Germany)
Gerard Byrne (born 1969, Dublin)
“Camp” with Shaina Anand (born 1975, Mumbai, India) and Ashok Sukumaran (born 1974, Hokkaido, Japan)
Michael Dean (born 1977, Newcastle Upon Tyne, England)
Jeremy Deller (born 1966, London)
Nicole Eisenman (born 1965, Verdun, Germany)
Ayşe Erkmen (born 1949, Istanbul)
Lara Favaretto (born 1973, Treviso, Italy)
Hreinn Fridfinnsson (born 1943, Bær í Dölum, Iceland)
Monika Gintersdorfer (born 1967, Lima, Peru) and Knut Klaßen (born 1967, Münster)
Pierre Huyghe (born 1962, Paris)
John Knight (born 1945, Los Angeles)
Xavier Le Roy (born 1963, Juvisy sur Orge, France) with Scarlet Yu (born 1978, Hong Kong)
Justin Matherly (born 1972, New York)
Sany (Samuel Nyholm) (born 1973, Lund, Sweden)
Christian Odzuck (born 1978, Halle, Germany)
Emeka Ogboh (born 1977, Enugu, Nigeria)
Peles Empire with Barbara Wolff (born 1980, Făgăraș, Romania) and Katharina Stöver (born 1982, Gießen, Germany)
Alexandra Pirici (born 1982, Bucharest)
Mika Rottenberg (born 1976, Buenos Aires)
Gregor Schneider (born 1969, Rheydt, Germany)
Thomas Schütte (born 1954, Oldenburg, Germany)
Nora Schultz (born 1975, Frankfurt)
Michael Smith (born 1951, Chicago)
Hito Steyerl (born 1966, Munich)
Koki Tanaka (born 1975, Tochigi, Japan)
Oscar Tuazon (born 1975, Seattle)
Joelle Tuerlinckx (born 1958, Brussels)
Cerith Wyn Evans (born 1958, Llanelli, Wales)
Herve Youmbi (born 1973, Bangui, Central African Republic)
Barbara Wagner (born 1980, Brasilia) and Benjamin de Burca (born 1975, Munich)

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.