Association of Art Museum Curators Announces Awards for Excellence

2017 AAMC Awardees. Michael Seto

2017 AAMC Awardees.


The Association of Art Museum Curators (AAMC) has announced the winners of its 2017 Awards for Excellence, which recognize “groundbreaking new scholarship in the field.”

The 26 curators who received awards were chosen from a group of 120 nominations. The awardees were selected for their work on projects that ranged from exhibitions and catalogues to essays and digital publications completed last year.

In a statement, Judith Pineiro, AAMC’s executive director, said, “It is critical to celebrate advancements in the field and those curators moving the profession forward through innovations in interpretation and access.”

The list of awardees and their respective projects follows below.

Catalogue or Publication Awards

  • Tracy L. Adler of Ruth & Elmer Wellin Museum of Art at Hamilton College—for Yun-Fei Ji: The Intimate Universe
  • Jessica Moss of Smart Museum of Art, University of Chicago—for Monster Roster: Existentialist Art in Postwar Chicago
  • Melissa Wolfe of Saint Louis Art Museum—for Subversion & Surrealism in the Art of Honoré Sharrer at the Columbus Museum of Art
  • Forrest McGill of Asian Art Museum of San Francisco—for The Rama Epic: Hero, Heroine, Ally, Foe
  • Sean Hemingway & Carlos A. Picon of the Metropolitan Museum of Art—for Pergamon & the Hellenistic Kingdoms of the Ancient World

Exhibition Awards

  • Pamela S. Wall of Gibbes Museum of Art—for “The Things We Carry: Contemporary Art in the South”
  • Stacy C. Hollander of American Folk Art Museum—for “Securing the Shadow: Posthumous Portraiture in America”
  • Nancy Kathryn Burns of Worcester Art Museum & Kristina Wilson of Clark University—for “Cyanotypes: Photography’s Blue Period” 
  • Anne-Marie Eze of Houghton Library, Harvard University & Nathaniel Silver of Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum—for “Beyond Words: Italian Renaissance Books” 
  • Massumeh Farhad & Simon Rettig of Freer Gallery of Art | Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution—for “The Art of the Qur’an: Treasures from the Museum of Turkish & Islamic Arts”
  • Al Miner & Laura Weinstein of Museum of Fine Arts, Boston—for “Megacities Asia”

Article, Essay or Extended Catalogue Entry

  • Stacy C. Hollander of American Folk Art Museum—for “Securing the Shadow: Posthumous Portraiture in America”

Digital Publication 

  • Alexandra (Sasha) Suda of Art Gallery of Ontario Toronto—for “The Boxwood Project”

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.