Market News

New York’s CRG Gallery to Close After 25 Years

Installation view of “Ori Gersht: sleepless nights” at CRG Gallery, 2017.


After 25 years in business, New York’s CRG Gallery will close this summer. A statement emailed today by the gallery’s owners—Carla Chammas, Richard Desroche, and Glenn McMillan—did not disclose details about the final show or what day the gallery would finally close (beyond “as of summer 2017”).

CRG Gallery first opened in 1990 on the Upper East Side. The operation then moved to SoHo and then to Chelsea, where it remained for 15 years. In 2015, CRG moved to the Lower East Side, where it is currently based on Chrystie Street.

CRG’s roster currently includes Saloua Raouda Choucair, Alexandre Da Cunha, Ori Gersht, and Jumana Manna, among others. In a statement, the gallery owners thanked their artists—all of whom “have enriched our lives immeasurably”—as well as curators and collectors who have worked with the gallery

Chammas, Desroche, and McMillan’s statement follows in full below.

After 25 wonderful years, Carla Chammas, Richard Desroche and Glenn McMillan announce the closing of CRG Gallery as of summer 2017.

First and foremost, we would like to express our gratitude to the many artists we have had the great pleasure of working with over these years.

Efrain Almeida, Kevin Appel, Anne Appleby, Tonico Lemos Auad, Glen Baldridge, Rina Banerjee, Eva Berendes, Steven Bindernagel, Colby Bird, James Bishop, Rhona Bitner, Nayland Blake, George Boorujy, Josh Brand, Carl Bronson, Jessica Bronson, Robert Buck, Bustamante, Saloua Raouda Choucair, Michael Coughlan, Petah Coyne, Russell Crotty, Alexandre da Cunha, David Jean MarcDeany, Alex Dodge, Tomory Dodge, Eric Doeringer, Angela Dufresne, Sally Elesby, Robert Feintuch, Joshua Fields, Bella Foster, Terri Friedman, Christie Frields, Pia Fries, Ori Gersht, Allison Gildersleeve, David Godbold, Amy Granat, Joanna Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, Tim Hailand, Channing Hansen, Lyle Ashton Harris, Mona Hatoum, Jim Hodges, Violet Hopkins, Theodore Kersten, David Hunter, Jessica Hutchinson, Shah Jahan, Butt Johnson, Uta Juerss, Robin Kahn, Natasja Kensmil, Andrew Kuo, Siobhan Liddell, Tom LaDuke, Kiki Lamers, Jim Lee, Matts Leiderstam, Ellen Levy, Kathleen Lewis, Graham Little, Firth MacMillan, Jumana Manna, Margherita Manzelli, Eddie Martinez, Julie Mehretu, Fausto, Melissa McGill, Kelly McLane, Carmen McLeod, Stacy Mohammed, Brian Montouri, Carter Mull, Keiko Narahashi, Yoko Ono, Yazid Oulab, Paul Pagk, Florence Paradise, Ian Pedigo, Zak Prekop, Stephanie Pryor, James Rauchman, Sam Reveles, Miguel Angel Rios, Steve Roden, Jeffrey Saldinger, Lisa Sanditz, Christopher Schade, Sandra Scolnik, Mindy Shapero, Jasmin Sian, Shazia Sikander, Joan Snyder, Frances Stark, Eddy Steinhauer, Neal Tait, Robin Tewes, Brian Tolle, William Touchet, Shirley Tse, Sara Van der Heide, Michael Vahrenwald, Sarah Vanderlip, Sergio Vega, Ned Vena, Bernard Voita, Ryan Wallace, Peter Wegner, Paul Winstanley, Rob Wynne, Etienne Zack, and O Zhang.

Without you our journey would not have been possible. You have enriched our lives immeasurably.

We would also like to express our sincere appreciation to the many wonderful curators, collectors, and art professionals who have afforded us so many opportunities and supported our program over these years.

All Best Wishes,
Carla, Richard and Glenn

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.