Yokohama Triennale 2017 Finalizes Artist List [Updated]

04-17_NW_YokohamaThe organizers for the Yokohama Triennale have released the final list of artists included in the upcoming 2017 edition, which will open in the Japanese port city on August 4. In April, the organizers had originally announced 26 artists and one project that would make up the total 39 participants in the sixth iteration of the exhibition, which carries the theme of “Islands, Constellations and Galapagos.”

The group of artists includes a who’s who of international art starts from Ai Weiwei, The Propeller Group, and Wael Shawky to Maurizio Cattelan, Jenny Holzer, and Olafur Eliasson. One odd thing to note is a collaboration between Carsten Höller, Tobias Rehberger, Anri Sala, and Rirkrit Tiravanija, who are being billed as a collective. The press release notes that the number is smaller than is typical for a biennial or triennial of this size, and that the artists will present multiple works as part of the exhibition, resulting in “a constellation or an archipelago of small solo exhibitions.” (The inaugural edition of the triennial included over 100 artists, with the following four including around 70 to 80 artists.) The exhibition will take place across four venues at the Yokohama Museum of Art, the Yokohama Red Brick Warehouse No. 1, the Minatomirai subway station, and the Yokohama Port Opening Memorial Hall.

Here is further explanation on theme, which has previously been billed as a reexamination of “the state of global connectivity and isolation from various angles,” particularly the idea of the archipelago:

The sixth edition of the Yokohama Triennale will contemplate the world in which conflicting concepts and phenomena are intricately intertwined and constantly in flux. Here, in Yokohama, the first port that opened to foreign countries in the late 19th century, we will see how the courage, imagination and creativity of human beings can be used to derive a new vision and ground design for the future.

The full list follows below. (*Denotes June 12 addition.)

— Ai Weiwei
— Aoyama Satoru*
— Joko Avianto*
— Broomberg & Chanarin
— Maurizio Cattelan
— Ian Cheng*
— Dong Yuan
— Sam Durant
— Olafur Eliasson
— Alex Hartley
— Hatakeyama Naoya
— Carsten Höller, Tobias Rehberger, Anri Sala & Rirkrit Tiravanija
— Jenny Holzer
— Christian Jankowski
— Mark Justiniani*
— Kawakubo Yoi
— Kazama Sachiko
— Kinoshita Susumu*
— Ragnar Kjartansson
— Konishi Toshiyuki*
— Map Office
— Prabhavathi Meppayil
— Mr.*
— Ozawa Tsuyoshi
— Katie Paterson
— Paola Pivi
— Kathy Prendergast
— Rob Pruitt
— Anne Samat*
— Seo Natsumi*
— Wael Shawky
— Shooshie Sulaiman
— Terunuma Atsuro*
— The Propeller Group, Tuan Andrew Nguyen* (Nguyen’s collaboration with The Propeller Group, of which he is a member, is newly announced.)
— Tatiana Trouvé*
— Ujino
— Yanagi Yukinori
— Zhao Zhao*
— Project: Don’t Follow the Wind

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.