Artist List Revealed for First Front International: Cleveland Triennial for Contemporary Art



In advance of its opening in July 2018, Front International: Cleveland Triennial for Contemporary Art has named the 55 artists participating in its first edition. Curated by Michelle Grabner and Jens Hoffmann, the triennial will be titled “An American City: Eleven Cultural Exercises” and will take place across 16 venues in Cleveland, Ohio, among them the Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland and the Akron Art Museum.

In a release, the triennial’s curators said the art festival aims to chart the changing profile of Cleveland as a city. “ ‘An American City’ considers the complex transformations that Cleveland, Ohio, a medium-size city in the center of the country, has undergone in recent decades,” Grabner said in a statement. The triennial will consider the transformation through exhibitions and programs bearing such titles as “The City as Readymade,” “Digital Infinity,” and “Exhibition as Discourse.”

The triennial’s artist list follows in full below. Asterisks denote artists who have been selected to participate in the art festival’s artist-in-residence program. The first Front International: Cleveland Triennial for Contemporary Art opens on July 14, 2018, and runs through September 30, 2018.

Asian Dope Boys (Beijing, China)
Nasser Al-Salem (Jeddah, Saudi Arabia)
Juan Araujo (Lisbon, Portugal)*
Dana Awartani (London, United Kingdom/Jeddah, Saudi Arabia)*
Eric Baudelaire (Paris, France)
Dawoud Bey (Chicago, USA)
Barbara Bloom (New York, USA)
Candice Breitz (Berlin, Germany)
Nicholas Buffon (New York, USA)
A.K. Burns (New York, USA)*
Gerard Byrne (Dublin, IRE)
Sean Connelly (Honolulu, USA)*
Sarah Crowner (Los Angeles, USA)
Abraham Cruzvillegas (Mexico City, Mexico)
Marlon de Azambuja (Madrid, Spain)
Casey Jane Ellison (Los Angeles, USA)
Harrell Fletcher (Portland, USA)*
Claire Fontaine (Paris, France)
Simon Fujiwara (Berlin, Germany)
Cyprien Gaillard (Berlin, Germany)
Dani Gal (Tel Aviv, Israel)
Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster (Paris, France)
Maryam Jafri (Copenhagen, Denmark/New York, USA)
Cui Jie (Beijing, China)
Hao Jing Ban (Beijing, China)
Li Jinghu (Dongguan, China)
William E. Jones (Los Angeles, USA)
Alex Jovanovich (New York, USA)
Mike Kelley [deceased] Luisa Lambri (Milan, Italy)
Guillaume Leblon (Paris, France/New York, USA)*
Adriana Martínez (Bogotá, Colombia)*
Laura Huertes Millán (Bogotá, Colombia)
Adriana Minoliti (Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Sarah Morris (New York, USA)
Naeem Mohaiemen (Dhaka, Bangladesh)
Kirsten Pieroth (Berlin, Germany)
Michael Rakowitz (Chicago, USA)
Cheng Ran (Beijing, China)
Jennifer Reeder (Chicago, USA)
John Riepenhoff (Milwaukee, USA)*
Kay Rosen (New York, USA)
Allen Ruppersberg (Los Angeles/New York, USA)
Tino Sehgal (Berlin, Germany)
Indre Šerpytytė (London, United Kingdom)*
Yinka Shonibare, MBE (RA) (London, United Kingdom)
Katrín Sigurdardóttir (New York, USA)
Cally Spooner (London, United Kingdom)*
Julian Stanczak [deceased]
Martine Syms (Los Angeles, USA)
Zhou Tao (Guangzhou, China)
Jim Trainor (New York, USA)
Philip Vanderhyden (New York, USA)
Jan Van der Ploeg (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Bárbara Wagner and Benjamin de Búrca (São Paolo, Brazil)
Carey Young (London, United Kingdom

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.