The biennial will be curated by Inti Guerrero.



Ireland’s EVA International Biennial Names First Group of Artists Participating in 2018 Edition

John Gerrard, Solar Reserve (Tonopah, Nevada), simulation, 2014.


The EVA International, Ireland’s contemporary-art biennial, has revealed the first group of artists participating in its 2018 edition. The biennial will be curated by Inti Guerrero, an adjunct curator of Latin American art at Tate Modern.

Among the 21 artists currently set to participate are sculptor Lee Bul, painter Laurent Grasso, and filmmaker Alejandro González Iñárritu, who recently won an honorary Academy Award for his virtual-reality experience Carne y Arena. At the EVA International, their work will be woven into Guerrero’s larger curatorial vision, which is based on Ardnacrusha, a hydroelectric dam built in 1925 in Ireland that represented technological progress and the promise of modernity.

More participants in next year’s EVA International, as well a list of locations where their work will be shown, will be announced closer to when the biennial opens, on April 14, 2018. Below is a list of the first 21 artists participating.

  • Jaime Ávila (Colombia, b. 1968)
  • Peju Alatise (Nigeria, b. 1975)
  • Malala Andrialavidrazana (Madagascar/France, b. 1971)
  • Patricia Belli (Nicaragua, b. 1964)
  • Patrizio di Massimo (Italy/UK, b. 1983)
  • John Gerrard (Ireland/Austria, b. 1974)
  • Alejandro González Iñárritu (Mexico/USA, b. 1963)
  • Laurent Grasso (France, b. 1972)
  • Eileen Gray (Ireland, 1878–1976)
  • Sanja Ivekovic (Croatia, b. 1949)
  • Mainie Jellet (Ireland, 1897–1944)
  • Seán Keating (Ireland, 1889–1977)
  • Sam Keogh (Ireland, b. 1985)
  • Lee Bul (South Korea, b. 1964)
  • Liu Xiaodong (China, b. 1963)
  • Isabel Nolan (Ireland, b. 1974)
  • Juan Pablo Echeverri (Colombia, b. 1978)
  • Dan Rees (UK, b. 1982)
  • Beto Shwafaty (Brazil, b. 1977)
  • Sutthirat Supaparinya (Thailand, b. 1973)
  • Trevor Yeung (Hong Kong, b. 1988)

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.