Biennale of Sydney Reveals Full Artist List for 2018 Edition

Chia-Wei Hsu, Ruins of the Intelligence Bureau (still), 2015, video installation, 13 minutes, 30 seconds.


The Biennale of Sydney has released the full artist list for its upcoming edition, which opens to the public on March 16 and runs through June 11. Curated by Mori Art Museum chief curator Mami Kataoka, the biennial will be titled “Superposition: Equilibrium & Engagement” and will feature some 70 artists. (A first batch of 21 names had been revealed this past April, but the new announcement completes the list.)

According to a curatorial statement, the 21st edition of the Biennale of Sydney, set to take place across seven venues including the Sydney Opera House and the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia, will focus on the concept of equilibrium and how it relates to larger societal systems. The statement notes, “We are surrounded by conflicting ideas across all levels of humanity: different cultures; readings of nature and the universe; political ideologies and systems of government; interpretations of human history, the history of art and definitions of contemporary art.”

The full artist list for the 2018 Biennale of Sydney follows below.

Julian Abraham ‘Togar’
Eija-Liisa Ahtila
Ai Weiwei
Brook Andrew
Sydney Ball
Marc Bauer
Oliver Beer
Michaël Borremans
Miriam Cahn
Francisco Camacho Herrera
Chen Shaoxiong
Tiffany Chung
Abraham Cruzvillegas
Roy de Maistre
Marjolijn Dijkman
Lili Dujourie
Luciano Fabro
Sam Falls
Marco Fusinato
Anya Gallaccio
Ryan Gander
Geng Xue
Simryn Gill
Marlene Gilson
Tanya Goel
Laurent Grasso
N.S. Harsha
Hsu Chia-Wei
Ami Inoue
Mit Jai Inn
Sosa Joseph
Jacob Kirkegaard
Yvonne Koolmatrie
Suzanne Lacy
Tuomas Aleksander Laitinen
Liza Lou
Nicholas Mangan
Cercle d’Art des Travailleurs de Plantation Congolaise (CATPC) with Baloji and Renzo Martens
Prabhavathi Meppayil
Kate Newby
Trinh Thi Nguyen
Tom Nicholson
Noguchi Rika
Ciara Phillips
Tawatchai Puntusawasdi
Koji Ryui
Sa Sa Art Projects
Khaled Sabsabi
Yasmin Smith
Dimitar Solakov
Michael Stevenson
Svay Sareth
Rayyane Tabet
Akira Takayama
Maria Taniguchi
Esme Timbery
George Tjungurrayi
Su-Mei Tse
Martin Walde
Roy Wiggan
Riet Wijnen
Nicole Wong
Wong Hoy Cheong
Yukinori Yanagi
Haegue Yang
Jun Yang
Yarrenyty Arltere Artists
Samson Young

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.