FotoFocus Biennial Names Artists Participating in 2018 Edition

Sheida Soleimani, Inauguration (United States, Iraq), 2016, archival pigment print.


The Cincinnati-based FotoFocus Biennial has detailed the participants and venues for its 2018 edition, which opens in Ohio on October 4. This year’s theme will be “Open Archive,” and it will deal with how images are maintained once they are circulated. As in past years, the biennial will span several different Cincinnati arts institutions, among them the Contemporary Arts Center, the Weston Art Gallery, and the Taft Art Museum, as well as museums in Dayton and Columbus, Ohio, and in Kentucky.

Highlights of the biennial will include an exhibition of Mamma Andersson’s paintings, a presentation by Akram Zaatari that will include photographs by the late Hashem El Madani, and a show about the connections, both personal and formal, between the work of Eugène Atget and Berenice Abbott. San Francisco Museum of Modern Art senior curator of photography Clément Chéroux will deliver a keynote speech on opening night, and a symposium will be held at Memorial Hall on October 6.

FotoFocus artistic director Kevin Moore said in a statement, “This edition of the FotoFocus Biennial addresses an aspect of photography that has been central to the medium since its invention: its unruly abundance. How do we organize and care for so much imagery? ‘Open Archive’ explores the terrain, both old and new, of a classic photo topic.”

The artist list follows below.

Berenice Abbott
Derrick Adams
Helen Adams
Sharee Allen
Mamma Andersson
Diane Arbus
Joel Armor
Lindsey Armor
Chris Ashwell
Eugène Atget
Jimmy Baker
Miranda Barnes
Karl Blossfeldt
Jymi Bolden
Liu Bolin
Valerie Bower
Francis Bruguière
Da’Mon Bulter
Harry Callahan
Chase Public
Clément Chéroux
Chivas Clem
Teju Cole
Nancy Ford Cones
Courttney Cooper
Renée Cox
Janet Creekmore
Stacey Dolen
Brain Dooley
Matt Eich
Chris Engman
Tracy Fitch
Bob Flischel
Forealism Tribe
Maureen France
Robert Frank
LaToya Ruby Frazier
Rebecca Freimuth
Tom Friedman
Emily Funk
Kelly Gallagher
Ron Geibert
Linda Gillings
Hans Gindlesberger
Juan-Si González
Eliza Gregory
Melvin Grier
Tina Gutierrez
Rebecca Hackemann
Ren Hang
Lyle Ashton Harris
Amy Hayden
Robert Heinecken
Jane Ruwet Hobson
Andrew Hostick
John Houck
Whitney Hubbs
Wing Young Huie
Vijay Iyer
Mike Jacobs
Chris Johnson
Louis Joyner
Isaac Julien
Miranda July
Ainsley Kellar
Joshua Kessler
Drew Klein
Paul Kohl
Kent Krugh
Deana Lawson
Jason Lazarus
Okkyung Lee
Deogracias Lerma
Sol LeWitt
Jen Liu
Goshka Macuga
Hashem el Madani
Rick Mallette
Christian Marclay
Steven Matijcio
Michael Mergen
Marilyn Minter
Emily Hanako Momohara
Peter Moore
David Muench
Zanele Muholi
Laurel Nakadate
Ben Jason Neal
Kevin O’Meara
Migiwa Orimo
Nathan Pearce
Irving Penn
Larry Plytlinski
Chen Qiulin
Robert Rauschenberg
Jake Reinhart
Michael Reynolds
Ron Rice
Jens Rosenkrantz
Marci Rosin
Thomas Ruff
Chrystal Scanlon
Brett Schieszer
Ann Segal
Malick Sidibé
Xaviera Simmons
Kamal Sinclair
Bayete Ross Smith
Brad Smith
RJ Smith
Sheida Soleimani
John Stezaker
Ulrike Meyer Stump
Braxton Thomas
Hank Willis Thomas
Mickalene Thomas
Michael Tittel
Gemma-Rose Turnbull
Jon Valin
Jason Vaughn
Sigrid Viir
Carolyn Wagner
Gillian Wearing
Carrie Mae Weems
Chan Wei
John Wesley
Joel Whitaker
John Williams
Michael Wilson
J. Miles Wolf
C. Jacqueline Wood
Allen Woods
David Yarrow
Akram Zaatari

This post has been updated to include the complete list of participants.

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.