Here Are the Rema Hort Mann Foundation’s 2018 Los Angeles Grantees

Installation view of “Janiva Ellis: Lick Shot” at 47 Canal in New York in 2017.


Today the Rema Hort Mann Foundation, the New York–based nonprofit that supports early-career artists and cancer treatment, announced its latest grants for Los Angeles artists, and the recipients are Beatriz Cortez, Daniel T. Gaitor-Lomack, Haena Yoo, Janiva Ellis, Kang Seung Lee, Kelman Duran, Walker Tate, and Young Joon Kwak.

Those artists will all receive an unrestricted grant of $10,000, with the exception of Ellis, who will receive $15,000 as the winner of the third annual Stanley Hollander Award, which is named for the late L.A.-based art collector and philanthropist. (Last year, New Yorkers may recall, Ellis had an impressive one-person show at 47 Canal, and she will appear in the 2018 New Museum Triennial, which opens later this month.)

The jurors for the award? They would be Catherine Taft, the deputy director of the alternative space LAXART; Susan Hort, the cofounder of the RHM Foundation; artist Keith Mayerson, a professor at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles; writer Travis Diehl; and Max Presneill, the curator of the Torrance Art Museum in California.

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.