Rome Prizes Go to Sze Tsung Nicolás Leong, Basil Twist, More

Some tasty-looking bucatini.


Artists Michael Ray Charles, Sze Tsung Nicolás Leong, Helen O’Leary, Karyn Olivier, and Basil Twist are heading to Rome. The American Academy in the Eternal City said today that the five artists have been picked to receive the Rome Prize, which is given annually to artists, designers, scholars, and practitioners in other fields. Each winner receives a stipend, a studio, and room and board for between five months and two years on the academy’s palatial campus in the Italian capital.

The winners were picked by fellow artists Stephen Shore, Deborah Kass, Gary Simmons, R.H. Quaytman (a 1992 fellow), and Sarah Oppenheimer (a 2011 fellow), and Louis Grachos, the CEO and director of the Contemporary in Austin.

A total of 928 applications were received this year; 29 prizes were given. Here’s the full list of winners.

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.