Here’s the 2018 Sobey Art Award Longlist

Sobey Art Award.


The Sobey Art Foundation and the National Gallery of Canada have released the list of 25 nominees for the Sobey Art Award, a prize that recognizes work by contemporary Canadian artists. The shortlist of nominees will be announced May 29, and the winner will be named on November 14.

This year’s winner will receive $100,000 CAD (about $80,000 USD), while the four shortlisted artists will win $25,000 CAD (about $20,000 USD) each; the remaining 20 longlisted artists will each receive $2,000 CAD (about $1,500 USD). For the first time since the establishment of the Sobey Art Award, in 2002, three artists from the longlist will participate in national and international art residencies funded by the Sobey Art Foundation and the Donald R. Sobey Foundation. Additionally, work by five finalists will be exhibited at the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa from October 3, 2018, through February 10, 2019.

This year’s curatorial jury was chaired by the National Gallery of Canada’s senior curator of contemporary art, Josée Drouin-Brisebois, and included curators from five regions of Canada and one international juror. Those jurors were Heather Igloliorte, an independent curator and the Concordia University Research Chair in Indigenous Art History and Community Engagement; Jean-François Bélisle, the executive director and chief curator of the Musée d’art de Joliette; November Paynter, the director of programs for the Museum of Contemporary Art, Toronto; Kristy Trinier, an independent curator; Melanie O’Brien, the director of the Simon Fraser University Galleries; and Séamus Kealy, the director of the Salzburger Kunstverein.

“I am thrilled that we received more nominations this year than ever before, and I’d like to recognize the role of the nominators in introducing us to artists and practices that we are not yet familiar with,” Drouin-Brisebois said in a statement. “This year’s longlist represents artists, some which are new and others who have been selected before, that everyone should be paying attention to.”

The nominee list follows in full below.

West Coast & Yukon
Hannah Jickling and Helen Reed
Arvo Leo
Jeneen Frei Njootli
Krista Belle Stewart
Howie Tsui

Prairies & the North
Joi T. Arcand
Hannah Doerksen
Przemek Pyszczek
Elif Saydam
Couzyn Van Heuvelen

Sameer Farooq
Maggie Groat
Kapwani Kiwanga
Life of a Craphead
Nep Sidhu

Adam Basanta
Sophie Bélair-Clément
Julie Favreau
Yann Pocreau
Jon Rafman

Jordan Bennett
Lisa Lipton
Jerry Ropson
Lou Sheppard
D’Arcy Wilson

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.