News The Talent

New York Foundation for the Arts Awards 2018 NYSCA/NYFA Fellowships

Fernando Fris de la Parra, I’M NO LONGER HERE , (still) 2018.


The New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) has awarded the annual NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowship to 89 artists in the state of New York, with awards totaling $623,000. This is the 32nd year of NYFA’s fellowship program in collaboration with the New York State Council on the Arts (NYSCA), with grants of $7,000 going to artists working across 15 disciplines divided into groups of five on a triennial basis. This year’s round of awards goes to artists in the categories of Fiction, Folk/Traditional Arts, Interdisciplinary Work, Painting, and Video/Film.

In a statement, NYFA’s executive director, Michael L. Royce, said, “Artists deepen humanity and help us to understand the world and each other through their work. . . . We’re proud to collaborate with NYSCA to offer unrestricted grants to artists of all disciplines across New York State to support their artistic visions.”

Read the full list of awards recipients and category finalists, accompanied by their area of residence, below.


Caitlin Cass (Erie)
Diane Chang (Queens)
Martin Cloutier (Kings)
Dana Czapnik (New York)
Nicole Dennis-Benn (Kings)
Eric Gansworth (Niagara)
Susanna Horng (New York)
Naomi Jackson (Kings)
Swati Khurana (New York)
Lisa Ko (Kings)
Marie Myung-Ok Lee (New York)
Haifa Lakshmi Koleilat (Rockland)
Lissette J. Norman (Richmond)
Bino A. Realuyo (Queens)
Mike Scalise (Kings)
Jennifer Sears (Kings)
Sejal Shah (Monroe)
Kelli Trapnell (Kings)

Folk/Traditional Arts

Douglas Barr (Richmond)
Danielle Brown (Kings)
Moris J Cañate (Queens)
Helen Taylor Condon (St. Lawrence)
William Crouse Sr. (Cattaraugus)
Wafa Ghnaim (Kings)
Zhong-hua Lu (Rensselaer)
Potri Ranka Manis (Queens)
Tashi D Sharzur (Techung) (Essex)
Jake Shulman-Ment (Kings)
Salieu Suso (Bronx)

Interdisciplinary Work

Noel W Anderson (Queens)
Kim Brandt (Queens)
A.K. Burns (Kings)
Tyler Coburn (Kings)
Ayana Evans (New York)
Allison Janae Hamilton (New York)
Kathy High (Rensselaer)
Sue Jeong Ka (New York)
Baseera Khan (New York)
Mary Mattingly (Kings)
Christie Neptune (Kings)
Ernesto Pujol (Columbia)
Elise Rasmussen (Kings)
Aki Sasamoto (Kings)
Kuldeep Singh (Kings)
Tiffany Smith (Kings)
Tattfoo Tan (Richmond)


Samira Abbassy (New York)
Maria Berrio (Kings)
Gabe Brown (Ulster)
Tom Burckhardt (New York)
Ginny Casey (Kings)
Elizabeth Colomba (New York)
Lisa Corinne Davis (Kings)
Lydia Dona (New York)
Donise English (Dutchess)
Derek Fordjour (New York)
Clarity Haynes (Kings)
Vera Iliatova (Kings)
Julian Kreimer (Kings)
Joel Longenecker (Dutchess)
Kathryn Lynch (New York)
Sangram Majumdar (Kings)
Tracy Miller (Kings)
Patrick Neal (New York)
David Opdyke (Queens)
Paul Pagk (New York)
Luisa Rabbia (Kings)
Gretchen Scherer (Kings)
Emily Mae Smith (Kings)
Michael Stamm (Kings)
Amy Talluto (Ulster)
Leslie Wayne (New York)
Deborah Zlotsky (Albany)


Abbesi Akhamie (Kings)
Jessica Beshir (New York)
Ira Eduardovna (Kings)
Fernando Frias de la Parra (Kings)
Brent Green (Ulster)
Devin Horan (Kings)
Haisi Hu (New York)
Hannah Jayanti (Kings)
Steffani Jemison (Kings)
Ekwa Msangi (Kings)
Shayok Mukhopadhyay (Westchester)
Iva Radivojevic (Kings)
Jessie Jeffrey Dunn Rovinelli (Kings)
Lynne Sachs (Kings)
Fern Silva (Kings)
Sasha Wortzel (Kings)

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.