MacDowell Colony Awards Fellowships to 87 Artists

Fall-winter fellows, clockwise from top left: Isidro Blasco, Jane Hirshfield, Naomi Jackson, Jihae Park, Anthony Wilson, Roger King, Guinevere Turner, and Itty Neuhaus.


The MacDowell Colony in Peterborough, New Hampshire has awarded 87 artists from six countries fellowships for fall and early winter residencies. The recipients work in seven disciplines, and 67 members of the incoming cohort are first-time fellows.

These fellowships, each with an average value of $10,000, were selected from a pool of 642 applicants by a panel of arts professionals based on their work samples and project descriptions. Among the incoming fellows are Grammy-nominated composer Anthony Wilson, Emmy-award winner Jane Alexander, and visual artists Itty Neuhaus and Isidro Blasco.

Cheryl Young, the executive director of the MacDowell Colony, who announced her retirement earlier this month, said in a statement, “These artists bring their diverse voices and visions, share those gifts in residence with artists of different disciplines, and no doubt their work will resonate with audiences around the world.”

The list of fellows follows in full below.

Edward Ford
Kai Franz
Ryan Ludwig
Karla Rothstein

Bryon Asher
Armando Bayolo
Frank Carlberg
Arthur Gottschalk
Ofir Klemperer
Victor Marquez-Barrios
Kurt Rohde
Anthony Wilson

Arisleyda Dilone
Margaret Honda
Jenny Perlin
Alvaro Sarmiento
Christin Turner
Guinevere Turner
David Zellner

Interdisciplinary Artists
Abigail Levine
Sharon Mashihi
Kaj-anne Pepper
Tom Sellar
Takahiro Yamamoto

Theatre Artists
Jane Alexander
Christina Anderson
Anna Fox
Rob Handel
Darrel Holnes
Nigel Maister
Sarah Mantell
Alistair McDowall
Jiehae Park
Christina Quintana

Visual Artists
Andrea Artz
sidro Blasco
Mike Crane
Stuart Diamond
Pinkney Herbert
Christine Hiebert
Sharon Horvath
Itty Neuhaus
Ester Partegas
Jami Porter Lara
Heidi Schwegler
Joni Sternbach
Margaux Williamson
Jayoung Yoon

Susan Barba
Brian Cochran
Ayokunle Falomo
Jane Hirshfield
Matthew Olzmann
Jamila Osman
Ethel Rackin
Marie Silkeberg

Nonfiction Writers
Burkhard Bilger
Michelle Bowdler
Matthew Clark
Caitlin Delohery
Jeremy Eichler
Clair MacDougall
Alexis Okeowo
Joshua Shenk
Emily Silverman
Tess Taylor
Dorothy Wickenden
Amy Wilentz

Fiction Writers
Sara Allen
Latifa Ayad
Mia Bailey
Maud Casey
Lan Samantha Chang
Deirdre Coyle
Simon Han
Annie Hartnett
Naomi Jackson
Roger King
Sarah Ladipo Manyika
Andrew Martin
Carole Maso
Tanwi Nandini Islam
Shira Nayman
Keija Parssinen
Sue Rainsford
Clarisse Baleja Saidi
Tatsiana Zamirouskaya

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.