News The Talent

Designer John Christakos Named President of Walker Art Center’s Board of Trustees

John Christakos.


The Walker Art Center in Minneapolis has named John Christakos president of its board of trustees. The cofounder of the design studio Blu Dot, Christakos has won the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum’s National Design Award for Product Design and has shown his work in institutions such as New York’s Museum of Modern Art and Paris’s Centre Pompidou. Christakos began his two-year term as president of the board on September 18.

Monica Nassif, the outgoing board president, said in a statement, “John’s commitment to the arts, entrepreneurial spirit, and success in business will be wonderful assets to his Walker board leadership.”

News of Christakos’s appointment came alongside several other appointments. Patrick Peyton, the founder and CEO of the investment company the Peyton Group, will now be vice president of the board; John P. Whaley, the former managing administrative partner of the investment firm Norwest Equity Partners, will be its treasurer; and Teresa Rasmussen, the president of Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, will be its secretary.

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.