2020 Berlin Biennale Will Be Curated by María Berríos, Renata Cervetto, Lisette Lagnado, and Agustín Pérez Rubio

A release announcing the news bore this image. It featured this caption: “Valencia, approx. 1973; Edmonton, approx. 1987; Buenos Aires, 1989; Kinshasa, 1963.”


The Berlin Biennale has named the curators for its 11th edition, which is set to open in the summer of 2020: María Berríos, Renata Cervetto, Lisette Lagnado, and Agustín Pérez Rubio. All four are currently based in South America; a release called them a “four-voice constellation” that is “female-identified.”

Berríos is a Chilean sociologist and writer, and a cofounder of the collective vaticanochico, a three-person group that produces editorial projects and identifies itself on its website as a “tartamuda (stuttering) institution.” She has also curated various exhibitions, including 2010’s “Drifts and Derivations. Experiences, journeys and morphologies,” a show at the Reina Sofia in Madrid that focused on experimental architectural collectives in Chile.

Cervetto recently acted as a coordinator for the educational department for the Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires (MALBA). She has also worked on projects focused on censorship and self-consciousness.

Lagnado, who worked on the “Drifts and Derivations” show with Berríos, served as chief curator for the 2006 edition of the Bienal de São Paulo. From 2014 to 2017, she was director and curator of public programs of the Escola de Artes Visuais do Parque Lage in Rio de Janeiro, and she previously coedited the magazines Arte em São Paulo and Trópico.

Pérez Rubio was the artistic director of MALBA until earlier this year. Prior to that, he was chief curator and director of Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Castilla y León in Spain. He has worked on major solo exhibitions for General Idea, Superflex, Tobias Rehberger, and Rosângela Rennó, among others, and will serve as the curator of the Chilean Pavilion at the forthcoming Venice Biennale, in 2019.

Past curator of the Berlin Biennale include DIS (2016); Klaus Biesenbach, Nancy Spector, and Hans Ulrich Obrist (1998); Gabi Ngcobo with a team of four other curators (2018); and Adam Szymczyk and Elena Filipovic (2008).

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.