Here’s the Artist List for the 2018 Shanghai Biennale

Installation view of “Counter Investigation: Forensic Architecture,” 2018, at Institute of Contemporary Arts, London. Forensic Architecture is one of the 40 artists set to participate in this year’s Shanghai Biennale.


Just a few days ahead of its opening to the public this Saturday, the Shanghai Biennale has revealed the artist list for its 2018 edition. Curated by Cuauhtémoc Medina, chief curator of the Museo Universitario de Arte Contemporanea in Mexico City, this year’s biennial will feature 67 artists, making it a much more compact than the 2016 edition, which included more than 90 artists.

The theme for the biennial’s 12th iteration is “​Proregress—Art in an Age of Historical Ambivalence.” According to a statement on the biennale’s website, this title refers to a sense of instability felt around the world these days. “ ‘Proregress’ provides a framework to explore the role of contemporary art as a means by which the struggles and anxieties of many different latitudes are reflected and turned into subjective experience, training the contemporary subject in the ambivalence [that] allows us to tolerate the contradictory forces of contemporary life,” the statement reads in part.

The full artist list follows below. The 2018 Shanghai Biennale opens this Saturday at the Power Station of Art and runs through March 10.

Nadim Abbas
Jennifer Allora & Guillermo Calzadilla
Alexander Apostol
Kader Attia
Francis Alÿs
Ursula Biemann & Paulo Tavares
Chiba Masaya
Kiri Dalena
Chto Delat
Christoph Draeger & Heidrun Holzfeind
Clemencia Echeverri
Cevdet Erek
Claire Fontaine
Forensic Architecture
Andrea Fraser
Sheroanawë Hakihiiwë
Hsu Che-Yu
Hsu Chia-Wei
Huang Jing Yuan
Alfred Jaar
Voluspa Jarpa
Enrique Ježik
Jiu Society
Ju Anqi
Siren Eun Young Jung
Yishai Jusidman
Jota Izquierdo
Reynier Leyva Novo
Rafael Lozano-Hemmer
Suki Seokyeong Kang
Leandro Katz
Meiro Koizumi
Lee Kai-Chung
Lu Yang
Cristina Lucas
Jill Magid
Nalini Malani
Claudia Martinez Garay
Vincent Meessen
Alicia Mihai Gazcue
Yasumasa Morimura
UuDam Tran Nguyen
Ilya Noé
Michael Rakowitz
Miguel Ángel Rojas
Macarena Ruiz-Tagle
Arin Rungjang
Amalia Pica
Seth Price
Fernando Sánchez Castillo
Simon Starling
Yuken Teruya
Yoneda Tomoko
Pablo Vargas Lugo
Wu Chi-Yu
Xu Zhe
Yang Fudong
Yao Jui-Chung
Yi Lian
Tomoko Yoneda
Samson Young
Yuan Yuan
Boat Zhang
Zhang Xuzhan
Zhu Xi

Correction 11/11/18, 1:10 p.m.: An earlier version of this article included a list from the Biennale’s website featuring around 40 artists. Since this article’s publication, the list has been updated with the names of more artists. Those names have been added to this post.

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.