Andy Warhol Foundation Names 2018 Arts Writers Grant Winners

Clockwise from top left: Essence Harden, Bradford Nordeen, Wendy Vogel, Michael Stone-Richards, Jessica Horton, Christina Catherine Martinez.


The Creative Capital | Andy Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant Program has announced the recipients of its 2018 grants. A total of $725,000 has been awarded to 21 writers in four categories—articles, blogs, books, and short-form writing—with grants ranging from $15,000 to $50,000.

Pradeep Dalal, the program’s director, said in a statement, “Since 2006, the program has funded 272 writers. A valuable reminder of the rich possibilities of arts writing today, the 21 grantees this year address a remarkable breadth of topics in nuanced and often interdisciplinary ways.”

The full list of grant winners follows below.

Ashley Hunt, “The Political Economy of the Prison in Contemporary Art Exhibitions”
Yxta Murray, “Blights Out and Property Rights in New Orleans Post-Katrina
Erin Thompson, Art after Guantánamo”


Andreana Donahue and Tim Ortiz, Disparate Minds
Essence Harden and Olivia K. Young, Speculative: Black Art Practices of the West
Bradford Nordeen, Memorabilia: Queer Countercultures and Moving Image Art

Susan Snodgrass, In/Site: Reflections on the Art of Place

Malik Gaines, Future Ruins: The Art of Abstractive Democracy
Elena Gorfinkel, Aesthetic Strike: Cinemas of Exhaustion
Jessica Horton, Earth Diplomacy: Indigenous American Art and Reciprocity, 1953–1973
Lucy Ives, She is Raining: The Work and Life of Madeline Gins
Eric Golo Stone, Artist Contracts in the Political Economy
Michael Stone-Richards, Care of the City: Ruination, Abandonment, and Hospitality in Contemporary Practice
Claire Tancons, Roadworks: Processional Performance in the New Millennium

Short-Form Writing
Rahel Aima
Siobhan Burke
Dawn Chan
Darren Jones
Christina Catherine Martinez
Wendy Vogel
Chloe Wyma

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.