News The Talent

Prospect New Orleans Names Members of Artistic Director’s Council for 2020 Edition

Diana Nawi and Naima Keith.


The Prospect 5 triennial in New Orleans, which is set to run from October 24, 2020, to January 24, 2021, has revealed the members for its Artistic Director’s Council. The group of eight curators selected for the council will support the artistic directors, Naima Keith and Diana Nawi, by recommending artists for the exhibition, contributing to the triennial’s publication, and participating in its public programs.

The council for the triennial’s fifth edition includes Rita Gonzalez, the recently appointed head of the contemporary art department at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art; Deana Haggag, president and CEO of the Chicago-based nonprofit United States Artists; Gia Hamilton, executive director and chief curator of the New Orleans African American Museum; Eungie Joo, curator of contemporary art at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; Thomas J. Lax, associate curator of media and performance art at the Museum of Modern Art in New York; Courtney J. Martin, deputy director and chief curator of the Dia Art Foundation in New York; Valerie Cassel Oliver, curator of modern and contemporary art at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts in Richmond; and Franklin Sirmans, director of the Pérez Art Museum Miami.

Nawi said in a statement, “We looked to colleagues that we knew had a range of experiences producing meaningful exhibitions in a variety of regional and global contexts. This exhibition is very much emerging from a dialogic position, and this amazing group will be critical interlocutors for us in this process.”

Nick Stillman, the executive director of Prospect, added, “There is nowhere in the world like New Orleans, and we welcome our colleagues from across the globe and the New Orleans community to experience what Naima, Diana, and their Artistic Director’s Council produce for Prospect.5.”

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.