Collector's Corner News The Top 200 Collectors

Independent Curators International’s Leo Award Goes to Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo

Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo.


The New York–based Independent Curators International will give its Leo Award—a tribute to Leo Castelli dedicated to “extraordinary commitment to artists and pioneering contributions to the field of contemporary art”—to arts patron and ARTnews “Top 200 Collector” Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo.

Sandretto Re Rebaudengo has amassed a collection of some 1,500 works of contemporary art since she began collecting in the early 1990s. Her collecting focuses on art of the past three decades and includes work by Maurizio Cattelan, Ian Cheng, Berlinde de Bruyckere, Damien Hirst, Josh Kline, Sarah Lucas, Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, Charles Ray, Cindy Sherman, and Rosemarie Trockel, among many others.

In 1995 she established an eponymous foundation that has staged exhibitions. She opened a research center in Turin, Italy, in 2002, and established a curatorial residency in 2012. The foundation will also open a new David Adjaye–designed space within the next few years at the Matadero Madrid Centre for Contemporary Creation, a converted slaughterhouse in Madrid, Spain.

“Since the beginning, the passion and daily work of the Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo has been to contribute to an opening up of contemporary art to a wider audience,” Sandretto Re Rebaudengo said in a statement. “Investing in young curators and artists has been an exciting, rewarding and vital part of Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo’s program, which we are seeking always to develop.”

The Leo Award is named after visionary art dealer Leo Castelli and has previously gone to collectors Dimitris Daskalopoulos, Patricia Phelps de Cisneros, Miuccia Prada, and Dasha Zhukova, dealer Marian Goodman, and LACMA director Michael Govan. The award will be presented at ICI’s annual benefit in October.

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.