Biennale of Sydney Releases Artist List for 2020 Edition With Focus on Indigenous Artists

Jota Mombaça, 'How old is suffering?,' 2018.

Jota Mombaça, How old is suffering?, 2018, performance view.


The Biennale of Sydney in Australia has revealed the full artist list for its 2020 edition. Some 98 artists and collectives are lined up to participate in the exhibition, which is due to run next year from March 14 to June 8.

The focus of the show curated by Brook Andrew, a member of the Wiradjuri people, is the “unresolved past anxieties and hidden layers of the supernatural,” according to a statement. Its title is “NIRIN,” after the Wiradjuri word for “edge.”

Andrew has previously stated that the title is meant to reference a de-centering that he hopes to achieve with a Biennial, which focuses in large part on indigenous artists and members of various diasporas.

Among the indigenous artists lined up for the event are various members of First Nations hailing from areas near Sydney—Noŋgirrŋa Marawili (Darrpirra/Yirrkala) and S.J Norman (Wiradjuri) among them. There are also Native Americans included in the show, such as Nicholas Galanin (a citizen of the Sitka Tribe in Alaska who recently wrote for ARTnews about his decision to pull out of the Whitney Biennial in July) and Demian DinéYazhi´ (Navajo), who is participating alongside the activist initiative that he founded, R.I.S.E. Other artists include Arthur Jafa, who has said he will consider blackness in relation to Australia with his new work.

The full artist list follows.

Adrift Lab
Tony Albert
Charlotte Allingham
Maria Thereza Alves
Lhola Amira
Joël Andrianomearisoa
ArTree Nepal
Tarek Atoui
Sammy Baloji
Denilson Baniwa
Bankstown Poetry Slam
Namila Benson
Sissel M Bergh
Huma Bhabha
Blacktown Native Institution
Karim Bleus
Anna Boghiguian
Mohamed Bourouissa
Breaking Bread
Eric Bridgeman and Haus Yuriyal
Tania Bruguera
Vajiko Chachkhiani
Club Ate: Justin Shoulder and Bhenji Ra
Colectivo Ayllu
Victoria Santa Cruz (1922–2014)
Randy Lee Cutler
Jose Dávila
Demian DinéYazhi´ and R.I.S.E.: Radical Indigenous Survivance & Empowerment
Karla Dickens
Léuli Eshrãghi
André Eugène
Jes Fan
First Dog on the Moon
Brian Fuata
FUNPARK Coalition
Nicholas Galanin
Stuart Geddes and Trent Walter
Fátima Rodrigo Gonzales
Josep Grau-Garriga (1929–2011)
Ramin Haerizadeh, Rokni Haerizadeh and Hesam Rahmanian
Lawrence Abu Hamdan
Aziz Hazara
Lily Hibberd
Lucas Ihlein and Kim Williams
Iltja Ntjarra / Namatjira School of Art
Arthur Jafa
Hannah Catherine Jones
Aslaug Magdalena Juliussen
Emily Karaka
Bronwyn Katz
Kylie Kwong
Tarek Lakhrissi
Barbara McGrady
Ibrahim Mahama
Stone Kulimoe’anga Maka
Noŋgirrŋa Marawili
Teresa Margolles
Misheck Masamvu
Katarina Matiasek
John Miller and Elisapeta Heta
Jota Mombaça
Mostaff Muchawaya
Prof Sir Zanele Muholi
The Mulka Project
Elicura Chihuailaf Nahuelpán
Paulo Nazareth
S.J Norman
Musa N Nxumalo
Manuel Ocampo
Erkan Özgen
Parramatta Female Factory
Taqralik Partridge
Rosana Paulino
Laure Prouvost
Public Redress System
Reading Oceania
Lisa Reihana
Andrew Rewald
Shaheed / Witness / Kashmir
STARTTS (NSW Service for the Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture and Trauma Survivors)
Adrian Stimson
Anders Sunna
Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers
Latai Taumoepeau
Tennant Creek Brio
Warwick Thornton
Kalisolaite ‘Uhila
Gina Athena Ulysse
Ahmed Umar
Unbound Collective
Kunmanara Williams (1952–2019)
Luke Willis Thompson
Pedro Wonaeamirri

© 2019 ARTnews Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. ARTnews® is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.